Awakening

flower close-upWith the arrival of spring comes a myriad of blossoms and flowers that are simply gorgeous to see and smell. The tree outside my apartment building has exploded into beautiful white blossoms that hit me with a refreshing scent every time I step outside. Today it reminded me of this poem I wrote a couple years ago  . . .

Awakening

It’s the spring that arouses me / from my winter drunkenness / with its ability / to admonish the mood swings / and misery that lately governed my life / by embracing my face / with the sun’s radiant kiss / and invigorating my being / as if I just woke from bed and realized / I had nothing to do but enjoy / whatever I chose to do, like go / slosh in the mud puddles / or swoop up butterflies fluttering about / in a glowing field / aflame with wildflowers / that flirt with the eyes and punch / the nose with their pungent / polleny breath.

Please share your thoughts!

