Pseudo Moon Boots

Surviving winter can be tough. Growing up in Wisconsin, I’ve learned that it all boils down to being prepared. For everything. Today was just like any other late winter day in this great temperamental state. I walked to work in the rain in about 30 degree weather. By 10am it was snowing. Big surprise there. It didn’t let up–and still hasn’t–and so my after work errands would have been a bothersome business if it weren’t for my wonderful, handy-dandy, pseudo moon boots that I’ve had for about 10 years. That’s right, these guys:

Moon boots

Why, you ask? Because on days like this, after it has rained for several hours and then dumped snow for even more, you need to have boots that can handle mud, ice, slush, snow, puddles, curb ponds, and cold. So, here’s how great they are . . .

MUD: I squish right through it.

ICE: I have grips of steel. Well, not really, but the bottoms are pretty great. And if the traction is weak, they at least slide gracefully over the slippery ice.

SLUSH: I slush right through it. And sometimes I feel bad for those in front of me because I like to see how far ahead I can send the slushy nuisance.

SNOW: I’m not worried. A little less terrible than slush, my pseudo moon boots handle it like most winter boots but better. If you couldn’t tell already, my moon boots are made of a smooth rubbery material. The snow slides right off and can’t stick to soak into my boots and then into my socks. Bam.

PUDDLES: I splash right through them. You never know when you’ll have to face water in all it’s forms. So wintery puddles?  It’s like I have rain boots on, but winter rain boots.

CURB PONDS: Don’t know what I’m talking about? Curb ponds are those sneaky pools of water somewhere 2-6 inches deep and 7 inches-3 feet wide that are dark, slushy, and often under the guise of snow. You can’t tell how deep it is. You can see footprints have dared to step there before, but is it semi-solid slush, or will it collapse into itself and form a pond at the end of a curb? Hence, curb pond. I’m sure you’ve seen ’em. (Like what Bill Murray steps into every day on Groundhog Day after meeting his old friend Ned.) I don’t have to walk around them and slip up snowy banks. I just embrace the depth and let the water wash over my boots.

COLD: My feet don’t feel it.

Please share your thoughts!

