Resolutely Me

Yay! at Santa ConEvery time I use dish soap, I squeeze the bottle so bubbles spurt out of it. I practice making faces in my bathroom mirror. I turn the faucet off before putting a cup under it or pulling it away so water doesn’t drip on the outside of it. I’m addicted to dreaming. But probably more addicted to sleep. I can fall asleep anywhere and within mere minutes (or seconds it seems). I hit snooze approximately 15 times every morning (or for an hour, hour and a half, depending which comes first). Sometimes I sit in front of my open oven with the heat turned up to 400 degrees. I drink wine from the bottle. I like to eat and read by candlelight. I will play 2+ player games by myself, and sometimes the real me loses. Some days I dance for no reason, and I often practice dialogue out loud before I write it. I usually read several books at once. There are over 400 books in my personal library, and I can name where I got every single one. I get super excited to start a new art project but usually become bored within minutes. I save all my doodles and keep a doodle diary (right). I write several lists a day, lists about things to do (including reminders to eat, shower, and sleep), things to watch, things to research, things to take home in two months, and things to write about. I use sticky notes for bookmarks and the colour must match the cover. Yes, I do use British spellings. If a device’s volume is measured in numbers, it must be an odd number, and 5 doesn’t count. If I watch where I’m walking, I don’t step on the cracks. Sometimes I count my steps. I’m addicted to lip balm, and when I forget to take it with me, my burning lips are all I can think about. I’m not punctual. I pull all nighters come Christmas time because I insist on making all of my presents, and never finish them early. Sometimes I pull all nighters just because I like how it feels the next day. I probably know more songs from the 60s and 70s than I do from the last decade. I listen to epic soundtrack music more often than any other music, except for maybe John Rzeznick. I do love my Goo Goo Dolls. I match the beat of my music when walking to it. I watch the world play out to my music and it’s epically fantastic! I pretend something’s after me just to try to act scared and take a new route home as if I’m trying to shake a pursuer. I believe the full moon affects people. A ghost lives in my bathroom. Not really. But really, there is. I hate when people pay for me (even if I appreciate it). I am disorderly organized and I am a compulsive organizer. I have an overactive imagination. I have killed and been–nearly–killed in my dreams. I play in the rain and splash in the puddles. I try to catch snowflakes on my tongue and leaves in my hand. I do believe everything happens for a reason. I love my family, my friends, and my life, and I am ecstatic to be alive.

This is who I am, and I’m proud of it. This New Year’s I’m resolved to be me and work on bettering myself and enriching my life through new experiences, new relationships, and new risks. Since the world didn’t end, I think 2013 should be a reawakening of who I am and the beginning of who I will become. Happy New Year everyone!

Please share your thoughts!

